You Are What You Eat; example of my meal plan

18 May

You’ve heard the saying “you are what you eat” and I couldn’t agree more! Nutrition is about 80% of the program when you are aspiring to be fit and/or lose weight. As a fitness coach I am constantly stressing the importance of eating the best foods for your body to utilize and eating 5-6 small “meals” a day. (please refer to my previously written post https://christinavolk.wordpress.com/2011/03/05/dont-want-to-look-like-a-cow-start-grazing/ to learn more about GRAZING)

I am surprised by how many people I encounter that cannot believe I eat that much a day. My thoughts are, they must not understand what makes a meal cause it’s really not that hard. So here is an example of what I have eaten over the last two days. This is a “really good” nutrition day (in my world).

Meal 1: black coffee, 4 egg whites, 1 piece dry whole wheat toast.

Meal 2: Results & Recovery formula (post workout drink)

Meal 3: Grilled, boneless, skinless chicken breast salad
2 tbsp fat-free dressing

Meal 4: Choc Shakeology and cup of hot green tea

Meal 5: Baked Chicken brest, 1 cup whole wheat spaghetti with marinara sauce and a tossed salad

Meal 6: 2 graham crackers and 6 oz glass of fat-free milk.

Another example is what I ate today.

Meal 1: black coffee and packet of low sugar instant quaker oatmeal.

Meal 2: Results & Recovery formula (post workout drink)

Meal 3: 2 slices whole wheat bread, 4 oz oven roasted turkey breast, lettuce, pickle and dab of ff italian dressing sandwich

Meal 4: cup of hot green tea  followed later by Choc Shakeology

Meal 5: 4 oz grilled, boneless, skinless chicken breast
corn on the cob with spray butter and serving of fresh sautéed asparagus (with olive oil).

Meal 6: sugar-free/fat-free chocolate and banana creme pudding.

In addition to the foods, I also aim for consuming at least 1/2 my body weight in ounces of water. People often ask if I drink alcohol and I answer honestly…”yes”. But do so in moderation. I believe in a drink a day for health benefits and I keep it light and basic. I’m a beer and wine girl. I TRY to minimize my carbs as the day progresses, so dinners are more meat and veggie. Not to say I wont have some wheat pasta,  brown rice, yellow potato, or sweet potato but they don’t take over the plate. I also try to make a meal a day salad based.  Obviously this plan works for me but not for everyone. I try to consume about 1500 calories daily which is sometimes not enough to keep up with my exercise regimen but if I’m hungry…I eat!

I hope this helps those of you wanting to gain an understanding of what actually constitutes a “meal” and you can see easy ways to fit food into your day every 2-3 hours. It takes some getting used to but the benefits are so worth it. This is the little step that can make your metabolism explode. Try to focus on high protein, complex carb meal items. Take care of the bodies needs and the body will take care of yours.  Feel free to message me for more examples of food choices and any questions about grazing.

2 Responses to “You Are What You Eat; example of my meal plan”

  1. JENN May 20, 2011 at 2:39 am #

    WOW, I EAT WAY TO MUCH

  2. JENN May 20, 2011 at 2:41 am #

    Crap some days I eat a lot more but, this is all today:

    for break a bowl of raisin bran with a small glass of juice
    1 1/2 cup of coffee
    1 garden burger for lunch with sweet and sour slaw…and a diet coke
    1 1/2 cup of coffee

    get ready to eat my last meal

Let me know what you think!

