C-section to 6-pack

8 Feb

What the H-E-double hockey sticks happened to my stomach?  That’s the words spoken out of my mouth when I TRIED doing my first crunch after the c-section delivery of my second daughter.  Please note the word TRIED because it didn’t happen.  It couldn’t happen.  Here I am a former personal trainer, aerobics coordinator and a person with a degree in Exercise Science and I couldn’t do a simple crunch ?!?!?!  At that moment I became very depressed, sad, mad, questioning, exhausted and I had just started.  That moment also became a moment that I became motivated and driven.

So a little about me when I’m prego.  First of all even though I have the degree and have worked in a corporate health fitness environment, I don’t any more.  I left the field about 2 years before I got pregnant with my first child.  When I left the field I pretty much stopped living the life of great health and fitness.  With both pregnancies I gained 50 pounds (and I guess it should be noted that my babies were only 7 pounds)! With both pregnancies I had gestational diabetes.  I went from 140 pounds to 190 pounds and with the second baby my stomach actually measured bigger than what correlated to my weeks pregnant.  So my point… I was HUGE and my stomach muscles were SHOT!  Then to add insult to injury, I had to have an emergency c-section with #2.   BYE-BYE abs!

So back to workout day #1 post c-section.  Immediately I started thinking back to all the horror stories I had heard about people never being able to get their sexy stomachs back after babies, let alone c-sections.  In the past I figured these people just didn’t try hard enough but now I was wondering if they were right. Could that person really be me now?  Was having a flat 6-pack stomach a thing of the past?  Well the only way I was going to find out was if I did something about it. 

Step 1 to get from c-section to 6-pack…research.  I wanted to know what exactly happened to my gut.  Luckily my doctor is amazing and she didnt have to open me up from chest to pubic.  I was fortunate enough to get the “bikini cut”.  Wow doesnt that make it sound much sexier.  3 minutes is all it took my doc to cut through skin, stomach fat, and muscle to get to the uterus.  After I educated myself on what happened, then I had to figure out how to fix it.  How do I rebuild?

Step 2 …rebuild.  Its like many improvement jobs. The taking down is the easy part, the putting back together is the hard part.  I decided to focus on the core strength.  I could have cared less at this point to try another sit-up.  I lacked the strength from inside-out.  PLUS I was too chubby to notice any ab definition so why spend my time working on just the abs.  I needed to work the entire core, including abs, obliques and low back.  I also needed to drop the excess fat.  What do I do now?  DING DING DING, its TURBO TIME!

Step 3…workout and eat right.  I decided to go back to an old favorite, Turbo Jam.  I love this program and knew it would be perfect for developing the core strength I was desiring.  In the earlier years of my aerobics days I used to teach a format just like Turbo Jam, so I knew it worked and I knew I loved the workout and the trainer (Chalene Johnson).  Also I had used Turbo Jam to help me lose the 50 pounds I had gained with my first pregnancy.  Now I was turning to it again.  It’s a high-intensity kickboxing routine but super fun and dancy (is dancy a word? thats a debate between my husband and I).  It also has LOTS of pelvic tilts and torso rotations.  SAY WHAT…yeah sounds like what I was looking for!  That lasted me a couple of months and even though things were getting better, when my daughter was 4 months old I was at 154 pounds and a size 12.  Some of you might be wondering what I’m complaining about being 154 pounds and a size 12.  Well that was still 14 pounds more that pre baby weight and my stomach looked like something out of a Freddy Krueger Nightmare on Elm Street movie.  The muscles were tighter but the skin was still loose and resembled chicken skin to me.  On to Part B of step 3.

Step 3; part B…workout and eat right HARDER! Whats the best way to burn calories? Put muscle on your body.  Muscle burns fat and its the fountain of youth in my opinion.  I decided to add a strength training program to the plan.  This particular program was called Chalean Extreme.  Its made by the same trainer as Turbo Jam.  Concept here…go heavy or go home.  I am not afraid to lift weights and by weights I mean something greater than 2.5 pounds. Now I didn’t get crazy, this stuff I did in my basement with a set of dumbbells that weighed 15 pounds each and resistance band that went up to 40 pounds.  This program caused amazing results for me.  After 4 months of lifting and following the nutrition plan (that’s an important part) I had lost ALL the baby weight and 8 inches off my waist!!! Did you note that I said I followed the nutrition plan? The plan was so easy to follow and the recipes were easy to tweak and delicious to eat.  I ate 5-6 small meals a day and never felt unsatisfied.  SO kudos to me, right?!?! Well I still don’t have a 6-pack.

Step 4…its a lifestyle.  I feel like I have made some amazing changes to my body and my overall health in the last two years but I’m still not yet at my goal.  I want a 6-pack!  Really for no other reason than to say that I’m a mommy of two little ones, had a c-section and have a 6-pack.  I’m very proud to admit that I am now 125 pounds and a size 5 junior (woot woot).  Lower abs are still a bit disappointing to me, but I’m not giving up.  I have already realized that with hard work, determination and dedicating myself to a healthy lifestyle I will reach my goal of going from c-section to 6-pack. Watch for future pics but even better join me and let’s do it together.

4 Responses to “C-section to 6-pack”

  1. Missy February 8, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    Hey Girl! This is great! I’m so proud of you. I love that you are going to allow everyone to follow you and your journey for motivation and inspiration. You rock! I am so blessed to have reconnected with you and have you rooting me on. I thank you from the bottom of my heart! I have a long road ahead of me, but with your advice of SLOW and STEADY, ONE DAY AT A TIME, (and LOTS of other advice), I’ll win my race!

    Eat to live, not live to eat!

    Thanks Christina!

    • christinavolk February 8, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

      Thank you so much Missy for following me and trusting me with your health. I also thank you so much for taking the time to comment on the blog. I appreciate you support. I look forward to braggin about you in my future posts! You’re doing great. Keep working hard and the results will be worth it.

  2. Jenelle Summers February 9, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    I *love* your story Christina!! And I love how you’re taking your own experience and using it to help everyone around you!! You’ve also come SO far in your Coaching business.. you rock!

  3. Sara July 4, 2012 at 11:14 pm #

    Wow, that is sheer will and determination. I also had a c-section. I went from 140 to 235 with my first and only girl. She is 18 months old and I weigh 170. I am trying so hard to lose the fat and the stretch marks. Can you please give me some advice?

Let me know what you think!

